requirements of revalidation

7 important requirements of revalidation that you should be aware of​

The requirements of revalidation is the next area of concern every nurse working in the UK should look into, which is why we have a blog exclusively written on the same. We have also gone further ahead to explain to you how to submit the revalidation. You may check the other line of blogs from JP Medicals Recruitment focusing on revalidation here.

Requirements of revalidation

According to the NHS revalidation requirement, we have split up the revalidation criteria into six important areas for your ease of understanding. Let us see them in detail.

1. Number of practice hour

NMC revalidation’s first expectation is that its applicants including nurses, midwives, and community public health nursing specialists should show at least 450 hours of practice. 

Therefore it outlines that those in the nurse plus a midwife category should show 900 hours of practice, which includes 450 hours exclusively for nursing and 450 hours for midwifery. For further information, we request you to go through the NMC guidance sheet.

2. Feedback related to the practice

Feedback revalidation or feedback collation is the next important  revalidation requirement While you practice, make sure you receive at least five pieces of written feedback related to your performance. This could either be in written or verbal form. The key is to manage to get them from your immediate superiors, service users, managers, colleagues

3. CPD or Continuing Professional Development

Besides you stating the number of working hours, you also should show a dedicated 35 hours spent on Continuous Professional Development activities, within a period of three years.

Of the total hours, at least 20 hours should be vested in participatory learning, including interaction with peer groups, training initiatives, practice programs, additional qualifications, on-demand training, and activities like conferences, workshops, or training courses.

4. Maintain written reflective accounts

This has to be done according to the NHS specified format. You would need a minimum of five reflective accounts of your continuing professional development (CPD). Remember that these written records should be neatly written outlining The Code defined by the NMC’s professional standards of practice and behavior exclusively for nurses and midwives.

5. Reflective discussion

NMC has pinpointed reflective discussion to be one of its main criteria as this develops a positive experience between the participants. It also gives them an opportunity to mutually help each other through group meetings, learn about their practices, theoretical, conceptual, and clinical findings. 

This step specifically gives nurses or midwives a chance to reply effectively to criticism, feedback, knowledge, and learning. 

During the process, make sure you talk over your written reflections with peer revalidation registrant and understand how well they connect to the NMC code.

Post this discussion, you have to fill up and sign the appropriate form, with details like date, name, NMC pin, email, etc.

6. Health and character

To be revalidated NMC requires its nurses and midwives to declare good health and character certificate. This is to ensure your fitness to practice and whether your conviction was ever questioned by a professional body. This step also testifies that your health is ideal enough to practice efficiently.

You don’t need a bucket of evidence, but just the written declaration stating that you meet the benchmarks outlined by the NMC’s code.

7. Professional Indemnity Arrangement

Declaration of the professional indemnity arrangement is the last step in the revalidation process.  It offers an appropriate cover for your practice as a professional in the UK and requires that you haven’t caused any harm through carelessness or any other negligent action as a nurse, nursing associate, or midwife. 

This being a legal requirement, it is a must to ensure you have it. Unlike the health and character declaration, the professional indemnity arrangement is not a proof of evidence to submit, rather only a confirmation that you should possess.

Steps to submit your revalidation

Step 1: Confirmation and Confirmers

To verify or to confirm the revalidation, you have to make sure that you have demonstrated your revalidation compliance with the third party. The confirmer is supposedly the line manager. It is always wise that the confirmer is the same with whom you had reflective discussions.  – but that’s not necessary.

As a confirmer, you will have to provide your name, NMC Pin, professional address with pin code, email address, along with your professional identification number.

Step 2: Submission

Make sure you submit your application with all accurate records right while you renew your registration with the NMC. While you do it, you need not complete the application on a single go – rather can save your progress and return to it later. The submission process is simple on the NMC site.

To confirm your registration, NMC will trigger a confirmation email to intricate your revalidation process.

Step 3: Verification

This step is where a set of nurses and midwives are asked to provide additional information to authenticate the submission. This is more like quality control and it is to be noted that the selection is completely random. 

If everything goes well, you will be intimated about your selection process within 48 hours of submitting your application. To cross-verify you can log into the NMC account with your credentials to view your confirmation status.

Leave a Comment